Kansas has an average incorporation processing time of 3 to 4 days
The state of Kansas requires a fee of $85 to form a C-Corp or S-Corp
, and a fee of $165 to form an LLC
(Limited Liability Company).
These Kansas state fees are in addition to our incorporation fee, which is $139 for our Standard Package
, $297 for our Premier Package
, or $773 for our Venture Package.
Kansas maintenance requirements for C-Corps and S-Corps
The new franchise tax and fee law requires businesses to pay a franchise tax to the Kansas Department of Revenue and a separate franchise fee to the Secretary of State. Both are due the 15th day of the fourth month following the tax year end?e.g. April 15, 2005, for entities with a December 31 tax year end.
Kansas Department of Revenue ? franchise tax (maximum $20,000)
Business entities that have $100,000 of net worth or more in the state must pay to the Kansas Department of Revenue a franchise tax of 0.125% of the total net worth. Business entities required to pay the tax will file a return with the Department of Revenue, which must be accompanied by the taxpayer?s balance sheet.
The franchise tax may be filed electronically starting February 2005, at www.ksrevenue.org/franchisetax.htm or by paper on the Franchise Tax Return, Form K-150, available from the Web site or the department?s forms order line: (785) 296-4937. Additional forms and instructions may be obtained at the Web site, or you may call (785) 368-8222 if you have questions about the franchise tax.
The franchise fee must be paid to the Kansas Secretary of State with the entity?s annual report. Both may be submitted electronically at the Kansas Business Center. To file the annual report and pay the franchise fee by mail, you may visit this Web site to download and print forms and instructions. The annual report and $55 fee should be mailed to:
Kansas Secretary of State
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
Please contact the KS Customer Service Center (785) 296-4564, if you have questions about the franchise tax and fee law.
Please note: Do not send your franchise fee and annual reports to the Department of Revenue. Your business will forfeit if the correct annual report and franchise fee are not received by the Secretary of State on or before your forfeiture date. Kansas maintenance requirements for LLCs
According to the Kansas Department of Revenue website, “There is no Kansas franchise tax for tax year 2011 and after.” If you have any questions, you may contact the Kansas Department of Revenue at (785) 368-8222.
Kansas does require all companies to file an annual report. The annual report due date depends on the tax closing month for your company. All for-profit entities have an annual report due date of the 15th day of the fourth month following the tax closing month. An example of this would be if the tax closing month is December, then due date is April 15 of the following year. The annual report may be filed as early as January 1st.
To file the annual report online with the $50 fee, please visit:
For more information, please contact the Kansas Secretary of State at (785) 296-4564 or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please note: Your business will forfeit if the correct annual report is not received by the Secretary of State on or before your forfeiture date.